Site menu:

SAMSA update, October 10, 2016

 

 

SAMSA

Founded in 1972 and officially launched in 1974 at Villanova University to present research on the Muslims of the subcontinent, SAMSA sponsors panels and roundtables at the Association for Asian Studies Annual Meeting and its regional conferences; the Annual Conference on South Asia, the Center for South Asian Studies, the University of Wisconsin, Madison, where it has also organized a pre-conference; the American Council for the Study of Islamic Societies; and the South Asian Studies Association. It also organizes panels at the European Association for South Asian Studies Conference; the Association for Asian Studies in Asia Conference; and the International Convention of Asia Scholars.

SAMSA Past Presidents

Hafeez Malik, Villanova University, 1972-75
Irene Shur, West Chester State University, 1975-78
M. Muhammad Awan, Clark University, 1978-81
Sam Iftikhar, The Library of Congress, 1981-88
Theodore P. Wright, Jr., SUNY Albany, 1988-2000
Mumtaz Ahmad, Hampton University, 2000-09
Irfan A. Omar, Marquette University, 2009-12
Roger D. Long, Eastern Michigan University, 2012-15

SAMSA Executive Members

President: Laura Dudley Jenkins, University of Cincinnati
Laura.Jenkins@uc.edu
Vice-President: Peter Gottschalk, Wesleyan University
pgottschalk@wesleyan.edu
Secretary: Theodore P. Wright, Jr., SUNY Albany, Emeritus
wrightt@gleneddy.com
Pre-Conference Program Co-Chairs:
     Roger D. Long, Eastern Michigan University
          Rlong@emich.edu
     M. Raisur Rahman, Wake Forest University
          rahmanmr@wfu.edu
     Sanaa Riaz, Metropolitan State University, Denver
          sriaz1@msudenver.edu 

SAMSA Board Members

Ali Asani, Harvard University
     aliasani@fas.harvard.edu
Christopher Candland, Wellesley College
     ccandland@wellesley.edu
Jennifer Dubrow, University of Washington
      jdubrow@u.washington.edu
Mehr Farooqi, University of Virginia
      maf5y@virginia.edu
Farhat Haq, Monmouth College
     farhat@monmouthcollege.edu
Sana Haroon, University of Massachusetts Boston
     Sana.Haroon@umb.edu
Taj Hashmi, Austin Peay State University
     HashmiT@apsu.edu
Fariha I. Khan, University of Pennsylvania
     fariha@sas.upenn.edu
Feisal Khan, Hobart and William Smith College
     Khan@hws.edu
Zillur Khan, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
     zillarkhan@hotmail.com
Ruby Lal, Emory University
     rial2@emory.edu
Mariam Mufti, University of Waterloo
     mmufti@uwaterloo.ca
Irfan A. Omar, Marquette University
     irfan.omar@marquette.edu
A. Sean Pue, Michigan State University
     pue@msu.edu
Ali Riaz, Illinois State University
     ariaz@ilstu.edu
Yasmin Saikia, Arizona State University
     Yasmin.Saikia@asu.edu 
Usha Sanyal, Queens University of Charlotte, North Carolina
     ushasanyal3@gmail.com
Megan Adamson Sijapati, Gettysburg College
     msijapat@gettysburg.edu